Clackamas County 2024: 3 commissioners up for election

Public Service Building

The long march to the 2024 general election started Thursday, Sept. 14, when candidate filings open for the May 21 primary.

Filings close at 5 p.m. March 12.

Clackamas County will have three commissioner positions up for election, plus the sheriff and the district attorney.

Listed below are offices up for election in the 2024 primary. Most local offices are nonpartisan; most candidates who win simple majorities go on the Nov. 5 general election ballot unopposed. If no candidate wins a majority, the top two finishers advance to the general election.

This list excludes statewide offices and Congress.

For Oregon House and Senate seats, Democrats and Republicans choose their nominees in the primary. Oregon conducts closed primaries; only registered Democrats and Republicans can cast ballots. Minor parties have a different nominating process for the Nov. 5 general election ballot.

Incumbents are listed, but the listings do not indicate whether they are seeking re-election.


(4 years; nonpartisan)

Chair (Position 1): Tootie Smith, elected 2020; also served on board 2013-17.

Commissioner Position 3: Martha Schrader, elected 2012; also served on board 2003-09.

Commissioner Position 4: Mark Shull, elected 2020.

Sheriff: Angela Brandenburg, elected 2020.

District Attorney: John Wentworth, elected 2020. Candidate filings for this office are handled by the secretary of state.


(4 years)

District 3: Gerritt Rosenthal of Tualatin, elected 2020.


Only seats that take in part of Clackamas County are listed.


(4 years)

District 9 (part of Clackamas County; other counties): Fred Girod of Lyons, Republican, appointed/elected 2008. Also served in House.

District 21 (parts of Multnomah and Clackamas counties): Kathleen Taylor of Milwaukie, Democrat, elected 2016. Also served in House.


(2 years)

District 18 (parts of Marion and Clackamas counties): Rick Lewis of Silverton, Republican, appointed 2017.

District 26 (parts of Clackamas, Washington, Yamhill counties): Courtney Neron of Wilsonville, Democrat, elected 2018.

District 37 (parts of Clackamas and Washington counties): Jules Walters of West Linn, Democrat, elected 2022.

District 38 (parts of Clackamas and Multnomah counties): Daniel Nguyen of Lake Oswego, Democrat, elected 2022.

District 39 (part of Clackamas County): Janelle Bynum of Clackamas, Democrat, elected 2016. She has announced a bid for the 5th District congressional seat.

District 40 (part of Clackamas County): Annessa Hartman of Gladstone, Democrat, elected 2022.

District 41 (parts of Clackamas and Multnomah counties): Mark Gamba of Milwaukie, Democrat, elected 2022.

District 48 (parts of Multnomah and Clackamas counties): Hoa Nguyen of Portland, Democrat, elected 2022.

District 51 (part of Clackamas County): James Hieb of Canby, Republican, appointed 2022.

District 52 (parts of Multnomah, Clackamas, Wasco counties; Hood River County): Jeff Helfrich of Hood River, Republican, elected 2022, also served by appointment in 2018.


(6 years; nonpartisan)

Position 1: Jeffrey Jones, appointed 2005.

Position 2: Ann Lininger, appointed 2017.

Position 3: Michael Wetzel, elected 2012.

Position 7: Todd Van Rysselberghe, appointed 2018.

Position 9: Ulanda Watkins, appointed 2017.

Position 10: Thanh Tran, appointed 2023.

Position 11: Susie Norby, elected 2006.


Recent Blogs